Skip to content

Will Lebanon get Civil-ized?

January 18, 2013
I was considering getting married, but i lost my religion! - taken by @trellalb

I was considering getting married, but i lost my religion! – taken by @trellalb – 2011

NowLebanon published: Lebanon’s first civil marriage, (yesterday in arabic) today.

The Lebanese sphere has been buzzing with the news since yesterday, but the headline is only half the story; “The request is now in the hands of the Consultations Committee at the Ministry of the Interior pending its official announcement.

I will only declare this a win when the papers are approved by the Ministry of Interior … call me a pessimist, but with disgrace like the “Orthodox Electoral Law” gaining monumental support across political factions in this dismal country, i can expect alot of bullshit rejections and obstacles to spur up in this process of approving any form of intermarriage between humans-carrying-different-pendants-on-their-necks in Lebanon.

Nonetheless i congratulate Lawyer Talal Husseini for discovering yet another loop-hole in the system 😉
Lebanese Civilization, status: pending approval.

#LebLaique - 2010 - My Sect: Lebanese - taken by @indep05blog

#LebLaique – 2010 – My Sect: Lebanese – taken by @indep05blog

Roundup:
A Separate State of Mind: Lebanon’s First Ever Civil Marriage
“Billets d’humeur” on Lebanon: An Unorthodox Proposal (or how to get it over with the usual self-labeled “secularist” blabla).
Beirut Spring: Sectarianism as a Means to Liberal Ends
Mokh Lebnene: Lebanese 2013 Elections: Ballot Papers Display Religious Beliefs (I want to know their favorite icecream flavor, it would later my perspective for sure!)

Leave a comment